The Art of Managing Up
Please read this article before the meeting:
The Art of Managing Up (Defense AL&T)
Recommended additional readings:
Managing the Boss (Drucker Institute)
Managing Your Boss (Harvard Business Review)

Gratitude and Well Being
Please read this article before the meeting:
Gratitude and Well Being: The Benefits of Appreciation(Psychiatry)
Recommended additional resources to review:
How Gratitude Leads to Good Health and Happiness: Infographic (Happify.com)
An Experiment in Gratitude: The Science of Happiness (Soul Pancake – 7 minute video)
The Selfish Side of Gratitude (New York Times)

Is Social Media Bad for You Please read this article before the meeting: Is Social Media Bad for You? The Evidence and the Unknowns (BBC)
Recommended additional readings:
What I Learned from a 30-Day Social Media Detox (Jason Zook’s blog)
Why It’s So Hard to #DeleteFacebook (Scientific American)
Technology Addiction: Concern, Controversy, and Finding Balance (Common Sense Media)

Gender Revolution
Please read this article before the meeting:
Gender Revolution: How Science Is Helping Us Understand Gender (National Geographic)https://www.nationalgeographic.com/magazine/2017/01/how-science-helps-us-understand-gender-identity/
Recommended additional readings:
A New Generation Overthrows Gender (National Public Radio) https://www.npr.org/sections/health-shots/2017/05/02/526067768/a-new-generation-overthrows-gender
A Country Tries to Banish Gender (Slate) http://www.slate.com/articles/double_x/doublex/2012/04/hen_sweden_s_new_gender_neutral_pronoun_causes_controversy_.html

Mansplaining
Please read this article before the meeting:
Men Explain Things to Me https://www.guernicamag.com/rebecca-solnit-men-explain-things-to-me/
Recommended additional readings:
Mansplaining Explained https://thenib.com/mansplaining-explained
Manterruptions, Bropropriation, and Mansplaining http://nextions.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/05/manterruptions-bropropriation-and-mansplaining-2-yellow-paper-series.pdf
The Novice's Guide to Mansplaining https://www.pressreader.com/kenya/daily-nation-kenya/20170701/282445644081196
Behold Woman's Most Powerful Weapon Against Mansplaining http://www.thehappytalent.com/blog/behold-womans-most-powerful-weapon-against-mansplaining

Are You Lucky
Please read this article before the meeting:
Why Luck Matters More Than You Might Think https://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2016/05/why-luck-matters-more-than-you-might-think/476394/
Recommended additional readings:
Why you should admit you didn’t create your success on your own http://nautil.us/issue/44/luck/ingenious-robert-h-frank
Untangling Skill and Luck https://hbr.org/2011/02/untangling-skill-and-luck
Six Things Lucky People Do That Others Don't https://www.forbes.com/sites/margiewarrell/2015/03/17/create-the-luck-youve-been-wishing-for/#47b41ad94ace

The Authenticity Paradox
Please read this article before the meeting:
The Authenticity Paradox https://hbr.org/2015/01/the-authenticity-paradox
Recommended additional readings:
Unless You’re Oprah, Be Yourself is Terrible Career Advicehttps://www.nytimes.com/2016/06/05/opinion/sunday/unless-youre-oprah-be-yourself-is-terrible-advice.html?_r=1
Cultivating Authenticity: Letting Go of What People Think https://thevalueofsparrows.com/2014/07/07/authenticity-cultivating-authenticity-letting-go-of-what-people-think-by-brene-brown/
Be Yourself But Carefully https://hbr.org/2013/10/be-yourself-but-carefully

Why Women Bully Each Other
Please read this article before the meeting:  Why Women Bully Each Other at Work  https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.theatlantic.com/amp/article/534213/   Recommended additional readings:
Neither Men Nor Mice  http://www.nytimes.com/2010/03/07/jobs/07preoccupations.html  Why Women Get Criticized for Being Candid at Work  https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.theatlantic.com/amp/article/535797/  How Office Culture Can Crush Women’s Ambitions  https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.theatlantic.com/amp/article/523443/

#MeToo Movement
Please read this article before the meeting:
Time Person of the Year: The Silence Breakers (Time)
Recommended additional readings:
Where did ‘Me Too’ come from? Activist Tarana Burke, Long Before Hashtags (Boston Globe)
It’s Time to Resist the Excesses of #MeToo (New York)
Trauma Is Subjective. Assault Categories Are Not (Betty’s Battleground blog)